CHEN SING WU CHINESE STUDIES SCHOLARSHIP

The Chen Sing Wu Chinese Studies Scholarship is established by Ms Chen Teck Shing, in memory of her late father, Mr Chen Sing Wu, through a pledged endowed gift of S\$150,000 and an expendable gift of S\$5,000 with effect from AY2017/2018. The aim is to ensure the Department of Chinese Studies at NUS continues its mission to nurture talent well-versed in Chinese and English for Singapore, who would go on to excel as bilingual professionals, in the education and business sectors, civil service, mass media, etc.

The Chen Sing Wu Chinese Studies Scholarship is governed by the following terms and conditions:

- 1) The Scholarship is tenable yearly and and up to 3 scholarships will be awarded in Semester 1 of each academic year. The Department reserves the right to revise the quantum and number of awards as deemed necessary.
- Full-time FASS undergraduate students in their second to fourth year of study, who have declared Chinese Studies or Chinese Language as their major and obtained a CAP of at least 3.5 may apply for the Scholarship.
- 3) Full-time FASS undergraduate students who received the Scholarship in one year are eligible to apply for the Scholarship in subsequent years.
- 4) Only Singapore citizens will be eligible.
- 5) The Selection Committee will give consideration to students who demonstrate the following:
 - a. Good leadership skills and character records;
 - b. Good CCA involvement.
- 6) Applicants should possess a high level of bilingual (Chinese/English) proficiency;
- 7) No scholarship will be awarded unless there are applicants of sufficient merit.
- 8) Award recipients should not be in receipt of any other scholarship/bursaries/free aid without the consent of the Scholarship's administrator and the other award's administrator.
- 9) The Scholarship is bond-free but recipients are expected to take on the role of student ambassadors or any other roles when called upon to do so by the Department of Chinese Studies.
- 10) The Department Scholarship Selection Committee, comprising the Head (Committee Chair) or his nominee and the Department Undergraduate Coordinator, will shortlist, interview and award the Scholarship.

Updated on 9 Jan 2017