Overseas Programmes

banner 5 enhanced

NUS-ANU Joint Degree

University Scholars who wish to major in philosophy may be interested in the NUS Bachelor of Arts (Honors)/ANU Bachelor of Philosophy (Honors) Joint Degree under the University Scholars Programme. For more information, please visit the USP website.

Student Exchange Programmes (SEP)

For more information on SEP application and other SEP places available to FASS undergraduates (including Philosophy Majors), please visit the FASS SEP website.

A successful exchange requires careful planning well ahead of time. Philosophy majors should discuss their exchange semester study plans with their academic advisors. A list of philosophy modules they plan to map should be submitted to their advisors and the SEP coordinator as early as possible, and certainly before they leave for exchange. In order to protect the quality and integrity of the Philosophy major program, we are careful about mapping of philosophy modules for majors, so plenty of time should be allowed for the mapping process. Normally, students should go on exchange in their second and third year. We discourage exchange during the honors year because we prefer those receiving an honors degree from us to undertake the entire honors requirement in our department. SEP mapping of honors level module is limited to 1 module.

SEP partner universities with good philosophy departments include, but are not limited to, the following:

Australian National University
Monash University
Melbourne University
University of Auckland
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Fudan University
Peking University
Tsinghua University
Wuhan University

University of Toronto
McGill University
University of British Columbia

University of California (Berkeley, Davis, Los Angeles, Riverside, San Diego)
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
University of Texas at Austin
University of Pennsylvania
University of Virginia
University of Pittsburgh

University of Edinburgh
University of Nottingham
University of Sheffield
Bonn University
Freiburg University
University of Heidelberg
Humboldt University (Berlin)
University of Copenhagen

Module mappings are to be submitted via the module mapping function in EduRec. Before submitting any requests, please refer to the user guide for students, which is available on the Student Portal (Navigation: Quick Links > myEduRec User Guides > Other Functions > Submit Module Mappings for External Study Program)

Things to take note of:

  • Consult the department’s list of philosophy modules to find one with a description that matches most closely with the SEP module you wish to map
  • Do provide detailed information about the module you wish to map (e.g., course description, level, credit worth, detailed syllabus, reading list, workload contact hours and assignments, etc.) and ensure accuracy in your submission. If such information is not readily available from the partner university's website, you should try contacting the instructor conducting the module in the partner university to obtain that information
  • Please take note that without the necessary information, it is difficult for the coordinator to help you map the module
  • Please note that students are allowed to map back only 1 level 4000 module during their exchange programme


Current Philosophy SEP Coordinator: A/P Saranindranath Tagore

Current Philosophy SEP Administrator: Ms Melina Loo